Blogger Q&A: Holly from Bookaholic Confessions:)

HollyKilminster

Holly from Bookaholic Confessions!

About Holly (in her own words!)

I am 25 years old and a UK book blogger/reviewer, Library Assistant, shoe hoarder and professional shopper … Ok, I made that last one up.
I live in the Midlands with my three Miniature Dachshunds and a LOT of books. I have been blogging for a year now and I love it (easily as much as chocolate).
Chick-lit is my favourite genre but I will happily read anything, as long as it has words I’m happy…

Firstly a big welcome to Holly from Bookaholic Confessions, who I feel so privileged to have here today! Holly, can I just say I adore both your site and your range, I read most of my blog posts through Twitter, and your blog is one of the ones that stands out and keeps me coming back, so thanks for many hours of entertainment! (https://bookaholicconfessions.wordpress.com)

Thanks for having me on your fabulous blog Bernadette! I love it here!

So, for anyone who doesn’t know you can you tell us a little bit about how you started blogging?

I have worked as a Library Assistant for nearly seven years and I have been a complete book worm my whole life. I was an avid reader of other book blogs for years before I started my own. I did some guest reviews for other blogs and the book blogging community seemed to be growing and growing. I had wanted to start my own blog for a while but I was scared (I know, what a wimp, right!?) However when I mentioned on Twitter that I was thinking of starting a blog the encouragement and support I received from other bloggers was overwhelming and really helped me along the way.

What’s the best thing about blogging?

EVERYTHING! I love it so much. Getting to know other book lovers has been one of my favourite parts of blogging. I’ve made some wonderful friends who I hope I will get to meet one day. I also love the interaction with authors. It’s amazing when an author reads your review and comments on it. Being able to tell an author that you’ve loved their book is such a fantastic feeling.
Then there’s all of the brilliant authors I have discovered through blogging. I’m certain I wouldn’t have come across some of these authors otherwise and any avenue that helps you to discover new authors is a winner for me.
I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t love receiving review copies, although I know that this is most certainly not the be all and end all of blogging. As far as I see it it’s just one of the (many) perks. The resources available to reviewers such as NetGalley and BookBridgr are amazing and something I’ll never take for granted.

Have you ever had any sticky moments- a book you didn’t like that you were under pressure to review or a book where you knew the author and didn’t like the book (Don’t worry, no names required!)

There have been times when I’ve been involved with blog tours and had to have books reviewed by certain dates and there’s always that worry that life will get in the way and you won’t have it reviewed in time. I try not to think about my ‘To-Be-Read’ pile, otherwise I may start panicking. Not that you can ever have too many books to read…
I’ve only been blogging a year so I haven’t really experienced the situation of worrying about not liking a book and knowing the author. It’s tricky but I guess you’d just have to be honest (but honest in a nice way, of course!) I would always try and look for some positives in a book, even if I hadn’t enjoyed it. I guess you just have to get into the mind-set that everyone’s different and just because you didn’t like the book it doesn’t mean that other people won’t love it.

I know from your blog that you have a wide range of bookish interests, but, is it true to say that chick lit is your first love??
COMPLETELY! Since working in a library and blogging the range of genres that I read has grown dramatically (I used to be strictly chick lit only, which I can’t believe! There are so many wonderful books out there, I have no idea why I limited myself like that…) But yes, chick lit will always be my first love and ultimately my favourite. I can’t see that ever changing…

Now, say I properly put you under pressure and without thinking, you have the answer the following questions: Ok *gulp*

E-book or paperback?Paperback

Summer read or Christmas book? Christmas

Favourite character of any book of all time? Becky Bloomwood from the Shopaholic books.

Favourite book as a child? Charlotte’s Webb by E.B White

If you didn’t like a book would you cut it short or soldier on? Soldier on. I hate not finishing books, even if I’m not really enjoying them. I’m weird like that …

Finally have you any tips for aspiring bloggers or newbies or any things you’ve seen that you wouldn’t recommend doing?
Hmm. I’m no expert but the one thing I would say is to keep going. There will be times when you feel like giving up, maybe you’re not getting the stats you want or you feel disillusioned, but don’t give up! Stats aren’t everything and everyone goes through slumps – as long as you’re writing about what you want to write about and sharing your love of books (or fashion, food, lifestyle etc – whatever the content of your blog) then that’s all that’s important. Blog for yourself and share the kinds of posts that you would want to read.

Well, Holly, thanks again for agreeing to talk to me today, it’s been beyond an honour x

Thanks for having me Bernadette, I’ve had great fun answering these questions!

6 thoughts on “Blogger Q&A: Holly from Bookaholic Confessions:)

  1. Great interview questions by you, and fantastic answers from Holly. I always wonder how other bloggers feel about reviewing a book they didn’t like. To review or not?

    Like

Leave a Reply

