The Inside/ Out Book Tag

I found this book tag on Vicky’s blog, Books, Biscuits and Tea and really liked the look of it. The tag was originally created by MathomBooks on YouTube and Vicky says on her blog that she found it on Sabrina’s blog I’d love to hear from you on yours so if you could either put on your blog or if it’s not appropriate then post in the comments below.

Inside flap / Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough (Discuss)

I think if a description is good enough there’s no need for a big long rigmarole. Blurbs that give too much away can be a bit annoying so I’d definitely vote for quality over quantity.

New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

I must say my Kindle has taken precedence over all other forms of book. If the kiddies are doing something I can sneakily read it without them ever knowing that I’m not one hundred per cent invested in what they’re doing (hides face). It’s so handy to carry around and I’m getting faster at highlighting and making notes for blogging. That being said I would love to give audio-books a go and for certain books, the ones that I crave and wait for proper ‘me’ time to read, I’d go for a paperback.

Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

I’ve never ever written in any book bar writing manuals (my Irish writer’s Handbook is highlighted and noted in to within an inch of it’s life!!). As said above I do love the option of creating notes on the Kindle and then scrolling through ‘View Notes and Marks’ when I’m reviewing. Other than that I have a giant segmented refill pad for notes.

In your best voice, read for us your favourite first sentence from a book.

I heard one on the ‘Rather Too Fond Of Books’ book blog: ‘The last stage of Honor Levinson’s life began at the top of the stairs in her home in North London.’ is from The Day of Second Chances by Julie Cohen. Just brilliant!

 Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

Simple answer: It doesn’t matter to me at all!

Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

I used to do this a lot but not since I’ve started blogging because I find when you do then you skip through the rest of the book and I want to take in absolutely everything!


Organized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

Quite organised as they’re not so full since a) I got the Kindle and b) I gave most of my books to charity shops. I don’t really read books more than once unless they’re ‘how to’ books.

Under oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

So, so, so many times! Most have worked out, the ones that haven’t had a cover that didn’t match the genre (which really really irked me I have to say!)

Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Reading outside sounds like a dream so yes, outside.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

