Sleepless in Manhattan by Sarah Morgan

sleeplessinmanhatten

What they say:

What if the person who broke your heart, is the only one who can help you find your future?

Great friends. Amazing Apartment. An incredible job. Paige has ticked off every box on perfect New York life checklist. Until disaster strikes and instead of shimming further up the career ladder, Paige is packing up her desk.

Her brother’s best friend Jake might be the only person who can help her put her life back together. He also happens to be the boy she spent her teen years pining after, and Paige is determined not repeat her past mistakes. But the more time she spends with Jake, the more Paige realises the one thing that was missing from her world all along: The perfect New York love story…

The Review: Lately I’ve been overusing the word ‘torn.’ I’ve been on the fence about a number of books and here’s another one to add to the pile. If you remember correctly  Christmas Ever After   was my book to beat at Christmas time. Ms Morgan, who is without doubt at the top of the pyramid when it comes to this genre, blew me away with her magnificent images and descriptions, and in this regard, Sleepless in Manhattan did the same. The settings, the backdrops, were vivid and beautiful, the twinkling stars, the bright lights of the city visible before my eyes. The story began with Paige Walker being let go from a job when she was sure she had a promotion in the bag. I really felt for her, it was obvious she was due the upgrade in position and then she was dealt the blow in a way that was horribly (but brilliantly) done. We also met her best friends, Eva and Frankie, who I loved. They were so good, in fact, that I kept expecting for the narrative to shift over to the two of them so that we could get to know them, however it was told only from Paige and Jake, her brother’s best friend, which was a pity.

In talking about the girls’ work I’m afraid all three came across as hugely amateurish in terms of their business acumen, and I hated that such a huge solution to their job losses was talked out and decided over a few days, I would have liked to have known that it was something they were all more passionate about, and had spoken about before. I found this to be visible from both their meetings and their reactions to things not coming together straight away. I know, I know, it’s only a book, but I just thought it lacked the professionalism I would have seen coming from Paige, especially seeing that I loved their work so much and found it so interesting.

As for Jake, he was a great character, I loved his back story and I loved the banter that went on between himself and Paige.  Actually, the romance between the two of them was where I was in two minds, separately the two of them were great, then as I said, banter great,  chemistry amazing (complete with hot steamy sex that was done perfectly, even for the more prudish of us who normally prefer to see a fade out instead!). My problem was the ‘will they, won’t they’ aspect. The over analysis of everything, both in their own heads, and when they talked about it, was exhausting, and unfortunately slowed me down and made me drag my feet. This went on so often that the length of the book was even impacted, it could have been shorter and so packed more of a punch. That being said, I haven’t seen this said much and their are a mountain of reviews out there that hold it at a 5 star rating, and put together the descriptions and imagery, the smile out loud comedy and the story line, it was still quite a satisfying read. Thanks to Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review. Out: March 10 2016.

Rating: 4/5

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sleepless in Manhattan by Sarah Morgan

  1. I love the cover of the book, but I’m not sure this book is for me. It’s the part about too much banter, spoken and thought, that puts the brakes on the story that makes me hesitate. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It could have just been me, but I found a bit too much repetition and second guessing when they were talking relationships. Such a pity as I said, because I really do love Sarah Morgan’s books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

