The writer’s trinity of books/Getting back to (writerly) work

onwritingselfprintedwriters and artists2016

Note: The images above link to the Amazon.co.uk, if you wish to check for these on Amazon.com, the links are within the post. Sorry for any inconvenience caused by this, I had a few technical issues with my universal links.

So lately I’ve been realising that I haven’t been putting enough into anything/ everything in the world of books. I’ve been posting twice or three times a week, writing sporadically, not promoting at all and committing to reading certain books and reading others instead … I’ve been all over the place! So I’ve decided to start again. This means more blog posts, proper time slots dedicated to writing my current wip (book 2, yay!) and a short story that will follow It Started With A Snub . As well as this I’m going to make sure to launch myself into book promotion and studying up on becoming a better blogger, writer and promoter.

This starts as always with the following books that I’ll be dipping in and out of this week, which I call ‘The writer’s trinity.’

Book 1: Stephen King: On Writing

Links:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

What they say: Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer’s craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. King’s advice is grounded in the vivid memories from childhood through his emergence as a writer, from his struggling early career to his widely reported, near-fatal accident in 1999 – and how the inextricable link between writing and living spurred his recovery.

There is a reason why Stephen King is one of the bestselling writers in the world, ever. Described in the Guardian as ‘the most remarkable storyteller in modern American literature’, Stephen King writes books that draw you in and are impossible to put down.

My humble opinion: This book is beyond inspirational, I will never ever be able to gush enough about how it made me sit back down and get ‘crafting.’Although it is fully geared towards writers, there are enough stories and analogies and autobiographical info in here  to  make a non writer would still gush as much as I did after I read it (and re-read, and re-read;)).

 

Book 2: Self Printed by Catherine Ryan Howard

Links:

Catherine Ryan Howard’s website (a necessary blog to follow and trawl for everything you need to be a writer)

Amazon US

Amazon UK

What they say: The fully-revised and updated third edition of Catherine Ryan Howard’s pragmatic ‘how to’ self-publishing guide Do you think that no one has the right to stand between you and your published writer dreams? That the publishing industry is going down in flames and self-publishers are going to rise like a 99c phoenix from the ashes? That all literary agents are interested in doing is blogging sarcastically about the rhetorical question at the start of your query letter, that editors will just use your submitted manuscript for kindling and that you’ll be senile before you hear back from either of them? That once you’ve uploaded the book you finished yesterday afternoon to Amazon, it’ll be mere minutes before the money starts rolling in and you can quit your day job? Are you self-publishing to “show them all”? If you’ve answered yes to one or more of these questions then I do apologise, but this isn’t the book for you. This book is for writers who consider self-publishing to be a good Plan B, or even a sideline to traditional publication. Who want to do it the cheapest and easiest way possible while still producing a quality product. Who understand that much like Starbucks outlets and Nespresso coffee machines, traditional and self-publishing can peacefully co-exist. Writers who know that they don’t have to sell a million copies of their book to start earning a living from their writing, but that they do have to work hard and treat it like a business. Who are blessed with common sense and live in the real world at least most of the time. Who find my jokes funny… If this sounds like you, then SELF-PRINTED: THE SANE PERSON’S GUIDE TO SELF-PUBLISHING may be just the “How To…” guide you were looking for. It will tell you everything you need to know in order to publish a Print On Demand paperback and e-book, and (crucially) sell them, without sounding like anti-Big Publishing propaganda produced by the Ministry of Truth. Be warned: you are now entering a No Saying “Gatekeepers” Zone…

My humble opinion: This book is the ‘how to’ guide of the process of self publishing. It tells you everything you need to know as if you had a professional sitting beside you at the computer, ready to pre-empt any issues you might come up with. I self published ‘It Started With A Snub‘ with this beside me and it strolled me through it. It goes through what you need to know about promotion, starting up a blog, the actual self publishing process, cover design, editing, putting your book into print, with pros, cons, tales of caution and so much more. It is a must even if you are not self publishing. Disclaimer: Any issues with It Started With A Snub are totally on me and not on this book!!!

 

Book 3: The Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook 2016

Links: 

Amazon US

Amazon UK

What they say: Foreword by Rachel Joyce

The annual edition of the best-selling guide to all aspects of the media and how to write and get published, the Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook is now in its 109th edition. Acknowledged by the publishing industry, authors and would-be writers as the indispensable companion to navigating the world of publishing.

The 80+ articles provide inspirational and how-to guidance on writing for newspapers, magazines, scripts for film, radio and TV; advice on writing and submitting plays, poetry, non-fiction and fiction of all genres – from fantasy to thrillers to romance; how to contact publishers and agents; managing finances as a writer; negotiating legal issues, such as copyright; understanding the editing process; self-publishing and conventional routes; digital and print.

NEW articles in the 2016 edition include:
Alison Weir Historical fiction
Ben Schott On writing
Rose Prince Writing about food
Sara Wheeler Travel Writing
Danny Hahn Literary translation
Nick Spalding Being a hybrid author
Mel Sherratt Successful self-publishing
Mike Poulton Adapting works for the stage
Julia Copus Being a published poet

and pieces on: Writing theatre reviews, Graphic novels, Getting poetry published, Literary festivals, Greetings cards

Every one of over 4,500 listings of who to contact, where and for which disciplines across the media, are reviewed and most updated, with new listings added every year.

The combination of up-to-date listings information and expert advice, make the Yearbook a topical and reliable resource; the perfect gift for every writer every year.

My humble opinion: Okay. So I have to admit I have the 2014 version of this but I will be getting the 2016 one soon. I have read different parts over and over, highlighted, post-ited and scribbled notes next to the pages and pages of details on agents and publishers in Ireland, the UK and the US. I have notes written next to the many articles on writing and promoting and publishing. I adore this book and I’d have to say I’ve named this my ‘desert island’ book ( a great question asked by a reader on Goodreads to see if she would approve people to be her ‘friend’ on Goodreads, after I saw said question I have to say I was desperate for her approval!!!), because I honestly don’t see how you’d get tired of it!

Oh and finally, I’ll be searching writing.ie , the top website (again, just my opinion)  for everything writing related.

What about you? What books get you writing or blogging? Have you any bookish plans this week?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The writer’s trinity of books/Getting back to (writerly) work

  1. Argh! You’ve just made me realise my copy of the handbook is 2015’s!
    The only reason I haven’t read On Writing is because I’ve seen so many posts summarizing it’s contents and quotes from it, I feel like I have read it… almost… in a way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was looking at their summary of the 2016 one thinking, why on earth didn’t I invest in 2015 last year and how soon can I get the 2016! The stories in the autobiographical parts of ‘On Writing’ took my breath away. In one he speaks of a man he met after he’s been in an accident and it dawned on him that it was someone straight out of one of his novels (he says it better than this)!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

