The Runaway Bridesmaid by Daisy James

therunawaybridesmaid

Amazon US

Amazon UK

What they say: A deliciously enchanting read, The Runaway Bridesmaid is set to steal readers’ hearts and keep them guessing until the very last page!

What a girl wants…

Squeezing herself into a frothy, flouncy, bubble-gum pink dress, Rosie Hamilton thinks that being a bridesmaid for her spoilt little sister Freya can’t get any worse.

But discovering her boyfriend in a cupboard with the bride, ten minutes before Freya is due to say ‘I do’, is the icing on the sequinned wedding cake – and Rosie’s cue to pack her bags.

Swapping her Louboutins for Wellingtons, Rosie throws her bridesmaid bouquet in the air and flies from bustling New York to sleepy Devon. Her late Aunt Bernice’s cosy countryside cottage is the only place that’s ever felt like home.

Now, for the first time in her life, and with the help of her beloved Aunt’s diaries, Rosie must put herself first for a change – and decide what she really wants…

A delightful romance, perfect for fans of Sophie Hart and Lindsey Kelk!

The review: I cannot tell you how much I wanted to adore this book. The cover, the blurb, it’s every chick lit lovers dream. Possibly I’d built it up a little, but whatever it was I’m afraid this wasn’t the book for me.

The premise, as you’ll see above, is that Rosie Hamilton walks in on her boyfriend and sister in the cupboard, em, at it. Rosie is aghast and runs away to her late Aunt Bernice’s cottage in Devon. From the very start of the book I knew I was going to have some problems with Rosie. So here’s the thing, you try to be impartial and give everyone a chance, but Rosie was, em, quite difficult to like. In a book that was brimming with  lovely characters, I couldn’t stand the main one. Not good.

My issue was that from the very start of the book we were belted over the eyes, mostly from Rosie, with how ‘poor Rosie’ (not being sarcastic, just quoting) was always being walked on, and never did anything for herself, just looked after other people all the time and after a while my notes about the book started to be solely about Rosie, and not in a good way. In short I couldn’t believe anyone could be so selfish or self absorbed! This was a pity, and just goes to show how subjective a book is- because a lot of the reviews I read never mentioned that they found her in anyway difficult. The characters in general were quite well done, I loved Charlie, one of the love interests, enjoyed Lauren and Emily, and in particular loved the older characters of the book, Rosie’s father and what we learned of her Aunt Bernice through her diary/ cookbook, which was where I found the story at it’s strongest, then there was her aunt’s friend Susan. The cookbook was great, with Rosie trying her hand at her aunt’s delicious treats, which had names and descriptions pertaining to how they would help Rosie, which I thought was genius! A weakening of the story was actually in connection with Rosie again, and the fact that there seemed to be a premise to the story that the only way anyone can have a ‘happy ever after’ was to find their prince, which I found a little sad.

The descriptions in the book were beautifully done, although at times perhaps a little too flowery, and that language sometimes found itself creeping into dialogue, which made the dialogue unrealistic to me. I did love the story line, if perhaps tweaked a little, a bit more confrontation at the start would have made it more believable than her ditching her father for so long.

All in all I was undecided as to what to give this book, but because I did actually enjoy the storyline of it so much and would recommend that other people try it (only after looking at the ‘look inside’ option, or flicking through the first few pages), I’ve decided.

Rating: Unfortunately 3/5

2 thoughts on “The Runaway Bridesmaid by Daisy James

Leave a Reply

