The Rest of My Life by Sheryl Browne

 

therestof

Amazon US

Amazon UK

What they say: You can’t run away from commitment forever …
Adam Hamilton-Shaw has more reason than most to avoid commitment. Living on a houseboat in the Severn Valley, his dream is to sail into the sunset – preferably with a woman waiting in every port. But lately, his life looks more like a road to destruction than an idyllic boat ride…
Would-be screenplay writer Sienna Meadows realises that everything about Adam spells trouble – but she can’t ignore the feeling that there is more to him than just his bad reputation. Nor can she ignore the intense physical attraction that exists between them.
And it just so happens that Adam sees Sienna as the kind of woman he could commit to. But can he change his damaging behaviour – or is the road to destruction a one-way street?

The Review: First off apologies for being MIA for so long. This is the point where most bloggers will tell you they’ve written a book in the time they were absent, or they were researching, or editing. Alas I cannot use any of these as explanations. In truth, everything kind of got to me and I started to feel a bit weighed down with everything I had planned to do. Something akin to this happens every so often, I do the whole ‘am I a writer or a blogger?’ thing, and I started to think I was neither as I sometimes feel so bogged down with everything and feel like everyone has found the magic way to balance stuff or just knows how to do it better. I know this is silly, as an avid blogger reader I continuously read blog posts of reading slumps, or hitting the wall in terms of writing, or feeling stressed, or down, and I know everyone’s trying to find their way through but in truth it was more likely lack of sleep, lack of planning and forgetting why I started all of this in the first place. Thankfully, I’m nearly sure I’m back to where I was before and just in time too! I have so many books to share with you before I fully commit to chick lit for May, the month of chick lit, so here we go!

The marketing for The Rest of My Life is a force to be reckoned with, because I have been looking at the cover of this book non stop for some time through tweets, Facebook posts and blog posts. What was unusual for me was that I knew it was steamy and yet I was still fully gung ho about reading it (I am a known prude that generally avoids sex in books and most definitely tries not to blog about it!).

Now I want you to bear with me and think of all the films out there that people say that you need to take with a pinch of salt, or tell you to leave your thoughts at the door and if you do then you’ll be where I am with this one. Adam and Sienna are both living on houseboats in the Severn Valley. Sienna, a screenwriter who’s been told to write steamier love scenes, is struggling, and daydreams about her neighbour (Adam), who seems to be living out the sort of fantasies she needs to inject into her work with the assistance of all the local women who seem to only one thing on their minds.

As you can see from the description this book is the story of how road blocks are put up for the pair as they struggle to see if there was any chance for them as a couple while carrying out a little experiment.

From the get-go I was pulled along, I couldn’t stop reading, I particularly loved that she was a writer and we got to experience avid descriptions. As a result of this the words flew by in an extremely enjoyable ride (excuse the pun please-ahem). Their first meeting was done brilliantly, with an incident involving a dog that made me smile. The chemistry was amazing, their sexual encounters mesmerizing and the banter brilliant. My problem, ie the part that I had to try to switch off from, was all the other characters and their attitudes. They seemed to have nothing else to do except throw in their two cents on the possibility of the two becoming a couple. The prevailing attitude was: Adam equals bad man, Sienna equals young innocent who cannot make decisions for herself. This went along with the general consensus that women had no minds of their own and any wrongdoing was the fault of the men and I will admit that by the end I was fairly infuriated with both and the men and women. These were hammered home in clashes with other characters that were a little too over the top for me.

All of this was a pity as it would have been a five out of five for me had the attitudes of the men and women not been so backward. There were so many pluses to this book, and I smiled at some very nicely done comic moments but I think it’s very much more for people who are into their pure romance and like a little comedy thrown in as opposed to those who like romantic comedies. And yet, this book will fit some people perfectly and be their five star gem (so many bloggers out there have deemed this book a forceto be reckoned with). Thanks so much to Netgalley for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating 3.5/5

 

4 thoughts on “The Rest of My Life by Sheryl Browne

    • Thanks so much, Claire! It even felt weird getting back to it, like I was a little rusty, but then I got that lovely feeling I get after posting and so was happy out:) I hope everything’s evened out with you too? Lots of sick kiddies everywhere at the mo, must be the lunatic April weather!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Welcome back! I think we all go through that slump. It’s been a struggle for me for the past couple of months for a variety of reasons. I’m doing this because I love reading and reviewing, as well as, interacting with all of my wonderful blogger friends. So why the slump? Sometimes a break is all that’s needed to get you back on track.
    Great review. The kind of backward thinking you mentioned would be a huge issue for me. I think your rating is right on the money. Hugs, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re a dote, Michelle! Hopefully it was just a bump, is hard to motivate yourself when you’re doing the whole ‘what’s the point?’ thing and I hated my frame of mind but very good to be back:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

