Weekend Immune System (a choose your own ending book) by Holly Tierney Bedord

weekendimmunesystem.jpeg

First off, welcome to chick lit May, the month where I will do my very best to convert those of you who don’t do chick lit by showing that chick lit comes in many shapes and forms, and that there’s something for everyone!  And what better way to do it than with a ‘choose your own ending’ chick lit book from the ingenious Holly Tierney-Bedord?

What they say: Remember those awesome Choose Your Own Ending books from childhood? Weekend Immune System is like that, but for adults. It’s the story of Juniper, a woman in her early twenties. Over the course of a three day weekend, You’ll make decisions to steer her life in dozens of different paths. Some paths are happy. Some are devastating. Choose wisely. Juniper’s life depends on it!

The Review: I defy anyone to not be interested by the premise of this book. I myself well remember ‘choose your own ending’ books from my childhood and when I saw this I was uber-intrigued! So as said above, we meet Juniper(first off don’t you just love the name?), a twenty something who’s in the process of moving with the help of her stoner boyfriend(how I saw him anyway!), Ozzy. I have to admit I didn’t warm to Ozzy one bit. The other person who was very difficult to like was her sister, Maura, who had a plan in mind for the way Juniper’s life should go.

It says above that some paths are happy, and that’s the way I went. I psychoanalyzed all of my choices, coming to the conclusion that I was taking the exact path I myself would take, as opposed to the way I thought Juniper should go (I don’t know if this is a good or a bad thing!) and was nicely satisfied with the ending. My only issue at all with this book could present a catch 22 for the author, should she decide to go on and produce more of these books (which I hope she will!). It is this: For adults who read a lot and come across a book such as Weekend Immune System, they will find both the path to the finish and the ending itself clipped, which of course it has to be or else it would be a monster of a book. I found it hard to go with the sudden jump of occurrences which were inevitable but saying that I still loved both the premise and the story. A very kooky, alternative book for people who like their chick lit, their characters and/or their stories with a bit of an edge and one that will send me over to Holly’s considerable back catalogue of novellas and books (I am now firmly a fan!).

Make sure you join me tomorrow (Tuesday)  for an interview with Ms. Tierney Bedord herself and on Wednesday for some more chick lit with a difference, a novella about wrestling (Boots On The Ground) from said author too!:)

Rating: 4.5/5

Note: As always the book cover image will link you to a universal buy link for the book on Amazon.

Connect with Holly Tierney-Bedord! The Links:

hollytierneybedford

Website

Blog

Twitter:  ( @hollytierney)

Facebook

Holly’s Amazon Page

6 thoughts on “Weekend Immune System (a choose your own ending book) by Holly Tierney Bedord

Leave a Reply

