Boots On The Ground by Holly Tierney Bedord

bootsontheground

What they say: As the owner of the world’s largest professional wrestling establishment, Lucille Boots doesn’t have time for dating. She’s too busy keeping her wrestlers happy, getting choke-slammed on national television, and spending time with her college-aged daughter to worry about something as tedious as romance.

When her ex-husband sets out to recapture the empire he helped build, Lucille’s life goes from hectic to haywire. The only bright spot she can see is with the ultimate off-limits option: a professional wrestler. Will she break her own rules for love, or will it be business as usual?

The Review: FI know, I thought it too. Wrestling. And chick lit. What? Actually, maybe we had different thoughts-I got very excited when I heard about this book, mainly because when I was young myself and my brother used to watch World Wrestling Federation (WWF) every Saturday morning and try out some of the moves on each other(where were our parents?!) and I haven’t had many dealings with wrestling since (I watched it once with the kids and then steered them away from it as they were too young to not try EVER move out on each other, including those that involved, chairs, dustbin lids … you get the idea!) But I digress.

This book is a very enjoyable novella that centers around Lucille Boots, the tough, kick ass owner of ‘Boots Brigade’ a professional wrestling establishment. In it we get to see her as she clamours to maintain her reputation and empire while fighting her ex-husband, who is trying to regain his seat to the thrown. I enjoyed hearing some of the behind the scenes wrestling talk and loved their brain storming and studying of some of the oppostition’s moves and ideas.

There was a lot about this novella that was over the top, not least the characters, but I can only guess that that was due to the dramatic arena that wrestling inhabits. I liked Lucille and enjoyed her daughter acting as her confidant and, when necessary, admonishing her as a parent would their child.The romance was brilliant, thanks mainly due to the simplicity of the character that delivered his thoughts on romance (no spoilers so I will say no more!) and the comedy was mainly delivered by said character too (oh how I laughed!). Needless to say I loved him. Loved, loved, loved! All in all a very quick, satisfying read which I enjoyed immensely. It obviously won’t suit everyone but I definitely recommend it for people who think it might be their ‘bag.’ Thanks so much to the author for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

My review of Weekend Immune System by Holly-Tierney Bedord and author interview!

The author

hollytierneybedford

Connect with Holly! The Links:

Website

Blog

Twitter:  ( @hollytierney)

Facebook

Holly’s Amazon Page

 

Note: As always the cover image links to a universal Amazon buy link for Boots On The Ground

4 thoughts on “Boots On The Ground by Holly Tierney Bedord

Leave a Reply

