The wedding date by Jennifer Joyce

theweddingdate

What they say: Will you…date me?

Delilah James, singleton and smoothie-addict, has six months to find a date for her oldest friend’s wedding. Oh, and to prove to her ex, best man Ben, that she has totally moved on since he dumped her out-of-the-blue nine months, eight days and seventeen hours ago…

So, with her two BFFs playing Cupid, Delilah launches herself into the high-tech, fast-paced and frankly terrifying world of dating. Luckily there’s the hot new guy at work, Adam Sinclair, to practice her flirting on – even if, as a colleague, he’s strictly off-limits!

Yet time’s running out and date after disastrous date forces Delilah to tell a little white lie – and invent a fake boyfriend! But will her secret crush on Adam ruin everything? Does she even care about Ben anymore? And is it too late to untangle her web of lies and take a real date to the wedding…?

NOTE: As always the cover image leads you to a universal Amazon buy link for the book.

The Review: I don’t think I need to remind you how much I loved A beginners guide to salad (see gush here) and so I was very excited to read this. Although it didn’t make quite the impact A Beginners Guide did, I really enjoyed it. We meet Delilah James, aged twenty four, who, as you see above, has six months to find a date for her friend’s wedding. Fairly early on in the book I remembered Ms. Joyce’s easy, warm style of writing and smile out loud comedy and I was happy out.
In fact, some of the comedy was beyond genius, her and her friend’s non existent use of the gym, the comparisons between her place of work:Brinkleys biscuit factory, and McVities, and just the general tone of the book which was so satisfying.
The dates were mixed, mostly I enjoyed them, but in places I was reminded how much younger Delilah is than me and I found it all a bit more difficult. Age shouldn’t really be an issue with books, but at thirty five, and as an avid reader of chick lit, a genre which pretty much needs you to connect in some way with the protagonist, I’m finding a bit more of a divide and when there is I can’t relate to the characters as much. The only other issue I had was with the text messages that were shown at the beginning of each chapter. Although some of these were genius, and some hilarious, there was the odd one that could be confusing.
I loved that there were so many things going on in the book, plans to be implemented for work, and other love stories all running alongside Delilah’s attempts to find an acceptable date.
There are many nods to various shows that I watched in my teens, such as That 70s show and Dawson’s Creek, which give the book a comfy familiar feeling. The characters were great, very vivid and real, and I really enjoyed it. All in all I’d definitely recommend. Thanks to Netgalley for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “The wedding date by Jennifer Joyce

Leave a Reply

