#ChickLitMay A to Z Scavenger Hunt

thumbnail_CLCMayAtoZgraphic2016

Hi everyone and welcome to the ChicklitMay scavenger hunt! We were set with the task of writing a post on a word beginning with a letter in relation to something, well, chicklitty! If you see at the bottom of the post there are details on what happens in the scavenger hunt, running at the times stated (I’m a little early so there may be a little wait involved) and the prizes you can win! So best of luck to you all and enjoy!

Y is for YOUTHFUL

I chose my word because when I read chick lit I want my lead character to be youthful, and by that I mean chirpy, vibrant and full of life. Think Becky Bloomwood from The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella, Bridget Jones by Helen Fielding or Charlotte Bristow from ‘As Good As It Gets (see my review here)’ by Fiona Gibson.  By the by, they’re the reason Heather came barrelling into my life, I loved finding a character that tried her best to skip from crisis to crisis with a smile on her face and her good humour intact!

Before I go on please note: If you click on any of the top sets of book cover images you will be led to universal buy links for the books. The covers with Amazon listings marked underneath require you to click on said  links INSTEAD of the image:)

sophiekinsella      bridgetjones

asgoodasitgets    ItStartedWithASnub

Similarly,the main character, Karly in Tripping Through by Michelle Morgan is 29 (young;)) but her youth shines true even more than most because despite all the things working against her, she is always hopeful of a better future. So no matter what life throws at her, she will always believe the best in people (almost to a fault) and always be looking forward to tomorrow.

trippingthrough

Amazon UK

Amazon US

And that’s what I want to read about! Now I was a bit worried that twenty and thirty something year olds in chick lit were all too common, but- (yay!) almost straight away I pulled out two older positive chirpy heroines who were a little older!

Jackie Sullivan is the main character in JEEP TOUR by Gail Ward Olmsted. Recently divorced and about to turn 40- she moves cross country in search of her happy ever after following a chance encounter with a sexy tour guide. (She will be returning in Driving on the Left this summer, a book I’ve already had the good fortune of reading!)

jeeptour

Amazon UK

Amazon US

 

How Do You Know? by Meredith Schorr features a 39 year old Maggie Piper. She’s extremely youthful, but worries she’s “too youthful” to be turning 40 in a year…

howdoyouknow

Amazon UK

Amazon US

What do you think? Are you a fan of the vibrant, happy go lucky heroines that reside in some parts of chick lit land? Or do you prefer the ‘older’ characters (as in in their demeanor)- those that begin as less sunny, more storm cloud and travel a journey to be happy again? And what of older heroines in chick lit, have you read any books with youthful older characters? All suggestions welcome! Anyhoo, back to the task at hand …

thumbnail_#ChickLitMayScavengerHunt2(2)

GRAND PRIZE Want to win a Kindle Paperwhite + a $100 Amazon gift card? Visit each of the 26 stops on the #ChickLitMay A to Z Scavenger Hunt and collect the alphabet word at each stop (A, B, C, D, etc.), then submit the A-Z list of words via e-mail to traciebanister@gmail.com with the subject “A to Z Scavenger Hunt Entry.” Entries will be accepted until Sunday, May 22nd at midnight E.D.T. A winner will be chosen on Monday, May 23rd. Good luck!

 

The next stop on the Scavenger Hunt (the letter ‘Z’) is here.

If you’d like to start back at the beginning of the Scavenger Hunt (the letter ‘A’), go here.

 

 

3 thoughts on “#ChickLitMay A to Z Scavenger Hunt

  1. Thanks for including my book in your post! I like characters of all ages as long as they are interesting and have a great character arc – young, old, sympathetic, unsympathetic etc. It’s all about the story telling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not at all, am looking forward to checking it out in more depth! I did find myself commenting on a few books I’ve read recently that the heroines felt much too young to me and for me and so I do like that there’s starting to be more of a range. I don’t mind the leads being really young but sometimes it’s a little difficult to identify with them, but then I suppose that’s also the writing as opposed to the age

      Like

Leave a Reply

