#ChickLitMay Chatting With the Chicks Of Chick Lit

chatting

As part of #ChickLitMay, Heather and Sarah Greene were invited to go on a chat show! See how they got on below:)

Ha ha ha ha welcome, welcome everyone to Chatting With the Chicks of Chick Lit. I’m your host, Chuck Lottateeth, and I am so thrilled to be able to introduce you to some of the most fascinating characters in literature today. I’m talking about the leading ladies of Chick Lit—those enchanting, romantic, darling, sexy, sweet, funny, headstrong—and, let’s face it, sometimes downright frustrating—modern women who headline this fabulously fun genre. I’m sure you’re going to love getting the skinny on these “novel” heroines, and who knows? You might just find your new BFF on the pages of one of these books!

Without further ado, please put your hands together and show some love for today’s guests Heather and Sarah Greene, two Irish sisters who will have come to your attention if you’ve read ‘It Started With A Snub.’ They say they differ a little in personality but generally end up on the same page …

To start: If you were a shoe, what kind of shoe would you be?

Heather: First off, can I say thanks so much for flying us over? And first class! I’ve never gone first class before … oh, sorry you want me to answer the question! Well that’s an easy one, because Graham has always told me that I’m like the comfiest type of shoes that became scuffed. All you could do was put on a bit of shoe polish and soldier on even though you could probably purchase better ones. He said that while he was a bit drunk … I like to think it was meant as more of an endearing type of thing … you know, that he couldn’t part with me? Coughs. Okay. Runners. Hold on, you say trainers here, don’t you? Oh wait, Sarah’s trying to speak …

Sarah: I’m sorry to say Graham didn’t mean that but I’ll say the same. The reason I’m saying it, however, is because they’re dependable and tough and there whenever you need them. Trainers go on for years and take all the battering in the world but they keep on doing just what they’re supposed to. And that’s what Heather is like.

Heather: Aw, Sarah …

Sarah: (Makes a face.) It’s okay, Heather. No, really, please don’t. Now for me. Okay, so it would have to be gladiator sandals, because they’re kick-ass, strong, they stand out, and yet they’re flat so they’re functional fashion too.

Heather: Good answer!

Sarah: I know.

Heather: Gladiator sandals cut into you too. (Starts to laugh.)

Sarah: (Rolls eyes, smiling slightly.)

 

What are the three items you would absolutely need to have with you if you were shipwrecked on a desert island?

Heather: iPod, a book and sun cream

Sarah: Everyone always gets this one wrong. It’s easy. Water, food and a laptop.

Heather: A laptop?

Sarah: Well then I can contact people and get some work done as well.

Heather: And is the wifi going to be good on a desert island?

Sarah: (Mutters to herself.)

Heather: And you’d get burnt without your sun cream.

Sarah: Well then, that’s where you come in.

Heather: Me?

Sarah: You brought sun cream.

Heather: You said you had it all figured out.

Sarah: And I do. If you come along too. (Mutters again.) Oha nd make sure you bring a first aid kit with you too.

 

If you had only $15 to spend, what would be the perfect date? $50? $5,000?

Heather: Laughing: Five thousand dollars? Come on, who on earth would …

Sarah: Trip to Paris, for shopping. Followed by some form of an extreme sport, followed by dinner at a Michelin star restaurent …

Heather: Pizza and a DVD for the fifteen dollars

Sarah: That’s all she’d want to do for any of them … oh you’re moving on. Oh, yes, I forgot we only get eight minutes …

 

Your best friend is asked to describe you in five words. What would they be? Your nemesis is also asked to describe you in five words. What would they be?

Heather: Okay. Gonna be quick. Best friend … Well Ann’s told me this before. Funny, loyal, easy …

Sarah: (Splutters laughing) Easy

Heather: To be around, but I can’t say that or else I’m using more than my five words, amn’t I? What are your five, Miss Genius?

Sarah: Well how about we start with that?

Heather: Easy?

Sarah: I meant genius! Add strong, modelesque …

Heather: Modelesque? Geez, Sarah you’re not half … oh, okay he’s moved on again … but, but, as for the nemesis thing, Antoinette would say I’m too hyper, chatty and annoying. And nice. She told me that.

Sarah: Antoinette’s a bitch.

Heather: (Nods.) She calls you ice queen.

Sarah: Good.

 

If you could be the heroine in any chick flick, who would it be and why?

Heather: Drew Barrymore in The Wedding Singer. The music in that soundtrack …

Sarah: I’d be Sandra Bullock in The Proposal because she’s tough and strong and on top of it all. Heather, you should be Sandra Bullock in Miss Congeniality. I could just imagine them trying to work on you to get you into a presentable state (Starts to laugh)

Heather: Wow, Sarah, well done, how long did it take for you to think of that one? Oh, they’re running the ad break. I thought we might get a bit longer. Oh, who are you? You’re taking my chair? Okay, em, bye then.

 

ItStartedWithASnub

Amazon UK

Amazon US

What they say : HEATHER GREEN is a fun loving, happy go lucky, twenty-six year old who has remained upright and beaming despite a few wobbles in life. She wears her heart on her sleeve and pins on her thoughts for good measure.

We meet Heather as she moves out of her family home to share with four guys, much to the dismay of her long suffering (by his own admission!) boyfriend Graham. We follow her housemates and watch their sometimes funny, sometimes-fraught relationships as they go about their daily lives.

Join Heather as she navigates the simple things in life, her inability to remember the code for the house alarm, odd driving habits, general musings on chick flicks, casualties in cooking, as well as her attempts to talk down the “mad farmer with the gun.” Experience comedy and drama as we get to know her family and housemates, and, as an unexpected event finally takes her down, learn what happens when the last people you expected to turn to are actually the ones you need the most.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “#ChickLitMay Chatting With the Chicks Of Chick Lit

    • Thanks Tracie! Yup, I don’t think Chuck was too thrilled … I did hear that he was impatient to move on because Bridget Jones was in the building but I’m not sure how reliable my sources are on that!

      Like

      • Definitely – but it would have been fun though 🙂 It is kind of weird ‘resurrecting them’ as you say = I wasn’t sure at what stage of the book I was supposed to consider her being. I.e. old boyfriend new boyfriend, old job, new job?? Bit confusing. But it was a lot of fun to do it, and reading all the others too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Same here Cassandra! Was trying to be spoiler free but then thinking ‘is she going to be acting differently because of when the interview is set?!’

    Like

Leave a Reply

