A Village Romance (Book 2 in the Little Perran Romance series) by Lynda Renham writing as Amy Perfect

9780993402647_AVillageRomanceCover.jpg

Note: As always the cover image leads you to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say:

As a heatwave rolls into Little Perran, so does love. Billy Baxter, the has-been rock star, and Rafe Wylde, the hunky farm worker arrive, both destined to cause havoc as they touch the lives of the villagers. Milly finds a new job and things start to look up for her, but she is unaware that a ghost from her past is looking for her. 

Funny, Compassionate and Sizzling Sexy, A Village Romance is a page-turning summer read. A Village Romance is the second book in The Little Perran Romance series by Lynda Renham writing as Amy Perfect. 

The Review: There was a time when I ignored book series, dismissing them straight away as reads I wouldn’t have the time to follow through on, but this year things have changed and I’ve found myself embracing and really enjoying them.

And there was a lot to enjoy about A Village Romance, the second book in the Little Perran Romance series by Lynda Renham writing as Amy Perfect. The start of the book, with two characters I really liked, Billy Baxter,the aging rock star who doesn’t realise his star has faded somewhat. Billy is about as inappropriate as you can get (in a light way, the book doesn’t go over the top with him) and I was happy out. The other was an author, Ash, or if we’re to be correct about it, Ashley Wilmot-Fox, a prestigious young author who’s suffering emotionally as well as physically after an accident. I loved Ash, and felt very much for him and the situation he was in.

Now in the book there were  more characters, Millie, who I loved, so simple and down to earth, and then others who I didn’t warm to so much, in fact I’d go as far as to say that the town had its fair share of people who were, well, to put it in the words of one of the characters “People get too worked up about things in this village.” And that said it all. I felt that a lot of the little mix ups that inevitably happen along the way in a book to create some comedy  were over reacted to and in terms of a book, that means either the events weren’t big enough to warrant a reaction, or the people were over the top. This was unfortunate as it was a very enjoyable, quick read, with so many other pluses to it, namely the three characters I mentioned and the lovely homely descriptions of beautiful scenic settings. In my limited experience (as I’ve said I only started reading series this year), this is my first that wasn’t chick lit and so maybe I couldn’t put it together and warm to it as much as usual, this had a touch of comedy in it but was more windswept romance of the ‘swoon’ type, which will appeal to those of you who like those take her in your arms type book, with some hot scenes thrown in, though more takes place towards the end of the book than at the start which is more concerned with showing us village life in Little Perran. Personally I would read this as part of the series as opposed to a standalone, the first being ‘A Christmas Romance,’ as I think it would serve to let you get to know the characters better.

The book ended on an excellent cliff hanger, and I look forward to the next installment, A Summer Romance, out the 1st July. Thanks to the author for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

Check out my previous interview with Lynda Renham and some reviews, including ‘Rory’s Proposal‘ a romantic comedy I really warmed to, and  Perfect Weddings which I also enjoyed!

The Author Online:

thumbnail_pKTCLgh8_400x400LyndaRenham

Facebook

Twitter @lyndarenham

Website

Leave a Reply

