Mean Sisters by Lindsay Emory

meansisters

Amazon UK version

Amazon US version: Sisterhood is Deadly

What they say: *‘Well written and Legally Blonde funny!’ Reader review*

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Mean Girls.

Margot Blythe: 20-something, sharp, friendly and totally incapable of letting her college glory days go.

When she returns to her old college as an advisor, she can’t wait to be reunited with her sorority sisters. But her homecoming reception isn’t exactly what she expected. Tragedy strikes, sending shock waves down sorority row, and Margot is forced to step up.

She’s determined to save her fifty frazzled sisters, keep the suspicious (but dangerously cute) police officer at bay and find out the real truth – could a sister have committed such an unimaginable sin as murder?

A sassy, hilariously funny murder mystery where the closest bonds of friendship might just kill you …

The review: The cover got me here, and when I heard the claim ‘Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Mean Girls,’ I was fairly sure I’d enjoy. I have to admit I’ve never read chick lit enshrouded in something akin to murder mystery/ thriller clothing before, and I was intrigued.

We meet Margot Blythe, ‘professional sorority girl,’ who is on her sixth year in the Delta Beta  sororities. Now obviously over here we don’t have sororities and so I really enjoyed hearing about the background, nuances and values of the sororities, and I liked the way there was a glossary at the back of all of the terminology associated with it. The murder was nicely done, as was the investigation, both tinged with humour. At times I found ‘Mean Sisters’ very funny, at times it didn’t quite hit the spot, but I did always enjoy.

Margot was extremely tunnel visioned in terms of her duties and how she believed everyone should be in relation to their sorority duties and this added to the ‘Elle Woods’  aspect. There were rivalries, twists and turns and suspects and dead ends. There were a lot of characters, but you weren’t just introduced to them and then dropped, you were gently reminded who they were and I liked the way this was done.  The backdrop of the college was great to showcase some greatly atmospheric, dark descriptions that kept you at the scene of the crime. All in all, a very enjoyable read. By the way, as you might note from above this book seems to be titled ‘Sisterhood is Deadly’ on Amazon US, and it also seems to be the start of a series. Thanks to Netgalley for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Mean Sisters by Lindsay Emory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s