Better In The Morning by Fern Ronay

betterinthemorningAmazon

Barnes and Noble

Length: 293 pages

Note: The cover image leads to an universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: Veronica Buccino has a plan: marry John DelMonico and quit her soul-sucking job as a lawyer. And when he tells her he has big news, she’s certain he’ll pop the question. But instead of proposing, John informs her that he’s moving to London.

Heartbroken, Veronica feels lost. Salvatore and Antoinette, her dead grandparents, begin to visit her dreams in an attempt to steer her in the right direction. At their suggestion, Veronica takes a news reporting class, which leads to a challenging freelance assignment covering a conspiracy trial. She also begins dating an unlikely suitor: creative Syd Blackman.

Just when her love life and career are looking up, Veronica is tossed back to square one by an event that makes her question all her new choices.

The Review: We meet Veronica with her grandparents Salvatore and Antoinette, having a run of the mill conversation that set the tone nicely. All are Italian, and I loved the tone, nuances and warmth of it all. The grandparents, as you most probably read in the blurb, are deceased, but Veronica can see, feel and speak to them as if they are alive. I have to admit, I’m not usually one for the supernatural, but Ms. Ronay did this beyond perfectly. I loved her grandparents, who gave us many sayings, words of wisdom and life lessons, throughout the book actually, with peeks into the past and the future. They also gave us sparks of comedy that hit the mark and made me smile regularly.

The story is of Veronica, who is waiting for her big break-from her career. She hates being a lawyer, and can’t take much more of her colleagues, Beverly and Kate, who seem to glean every ounce of happiness they can from Veronica, by throwing extra work and late nights at her constantly. Although they weren’t the nicest of people, they threw up one of my problems with this book-the fact that I found Veronica to be horrendously lazy! If she hadn’t spent so much time on the internet, looking up human interest stories, she wouldn’t have had to stay so late in the first place (I know, I’m harsh, but she was very lazy!) I couldn’t warm to her, there were a number of times I felt she overreacted, and I got a bit too much of the ‘I usually take too much rubbish from people’ vibe from her. I’m afraid at times this soured the story for me, just a little.  Aside from her, all of the characters did their jobs well, I enjoyed Jada, obviously loved the grandparents, and her parents, and Syd … oh how I loved Syd from the second he appeared! I looked forward to reading and read very quickly, there were many moments I truly enjoyed, and I always looked forward to picking it up. A nice light read that will be enjoyed by many, and only $0.99 at the moment! Tomorrow I’ll bring you an excerpt from the book. Thanks to the author for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

About the author:

fernronay

Nobody says it better than the author herself! Read about Fern Ronay on her website here

On Goodreads

On Facebook

On Twitter

Instagram

On Snapchat @FernRonay

 

 

Leave a Reply

