The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry

thebookshoponrosemarylane

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say:

**Take a trip to the Yorkshire village of Burley Bridge, where a very special little cookbook shop is about to open its doors…**

In the beginning…

Kitty Cartwright has always solved her problems in the kitchen. Her cookbooks are her life, and there isn’t an issue that ‘Cooking with Aspic’ can’t fix. Her only wish is that she had a book entitled ‘Rustling Up Dinner When Your Husband Has Left You’.

Forty years later…

On Rosemary Lane, Della Cartwright plans to open a very special little bookshop. Not knowing what to do with the hundreds of cookbooks her mother left her, she now wants to share their recipes with the world – and no amount of aspic will stand in her way.

But with her family convinced it’s a hare-brained scheme, Della starts to wonder if she’s made a terrible decision. One thing’s for sure: she’s about to find out…

Lose yourself in Della’s world of food, family and friends. The perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.

 

The Review: I picked this book by chance purely on the cover and the title (I know, I know), I mean talk about hitting the spot! Little did I  know that this came from one of my top authors, Fiona Gibson (read my review of one of my favourite rom coms ever: As Good As It Gets here )

This is the story of Della Cartwright. Della lives for her family and tries her best to help anyone she can. We meet her at Rosemary cottage, her mother’s house and family home, where all is quiet following the death of her mother, Kitty. She is in shock, as she has become accustomed to driving over to visit her mother in the hospice every single day and is standing in a kitchen that hasn’t seen the amazing cooking it used to, even though it still sports the hundreds of cook books that previously brought it to life.

Now, as I said, I didn’t know that this book was written by Fiona Gibson, and it was a departure from her other books in that it was written with language that was a bit more flowery, and more descriptiveness in the surroundings, where her other books seem to be solely concentrated on humour and dialogue (although of course we are aware and sucked into the setting too!) I’ll tell you at times I wasn’t sure of the language. There’s this horribly thin line in descriptive chick lit (as I call it), where the language crosses the line to become slightly too flowery, and while it was stunning, this happened a few times here, especially as the story was so good, that of Della, struggling with her mothers death, surrounded by some pretty awful siblings, and a husband who seems to be drifting away from her. Her daughter is leaving home, and Della is lost. Cue (sound trumpet!), pretty much my favourite idea to come from a book, that of a book shop that sells only second hand cookery books. I mean, could you imagine it?

I found myself dreaming of such a shop, where so many cookery books are so freely available, at prices that aren’t as horrific as in mainstream book shops. Brilliant! I loved the interactions between Della and her husband, adored Della’s personality and strength and vivaciousness when things hit the fan, lived for the set up of her shop, including her ideas for set up (a ‘Cooking in Difficult Circumstances’ shelf was mentioned, which is pretty much my life in the kitchen!) and enjoyed the other secrets that inevitably unfolded.

All in all I really, really enjoyed, but as I said missed a little bit (there was a lot there, but not the full barage I’m used to)  of Fiona Gibson’s trade spark and ‘take it as you see it’ness. Saying that I’m in for the long haul and can’t wait to get back to Fiona Gibson’s many other books (see them here). Thanks so much to Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

