Novella review: Summer at the Star and Sixpence by Holly Hepburn

summeratthe

Length: 80 pages

Note: The image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: The perfect summer novella for all fans of Cathy Bramley and Scarlett Bailey.

When sisters Sam and Nessie left the city lights to take over The Star and Sixpence pub in Little Monkham, little did they realise they’d be taking on the villagers too… 
 
Thrown in at the deep end with a wedding to organise at the same time as launching their new hotel rooms, the last thing they need is Sam’s past catching up with them.
 
As the scandal strikes, the only question is will the villagers stick their necks out for two relative newcomers? Or will Franny, the terrifying postmistress, see them gone for good… 

The Review: I have to start by apologising for posting a Summer book so late in the year, I know it bugs a lot of people to see for example Christmas reviews in Summer, and said people are possibly shaking their head at the sheer gall of me posting a Summer review when the nights have turned cold, the clock is gone back, and the leaves on the trees, are not only donning their Autumn finery, but also starting to lose it, so sorry, but anyhoo, here we go.

You know when you see an ad for a sequel and you hear ‘Theyyy’rre back!’ and there’s much clapping and excitement? Well this is how I felt when I got back to Sam and Nessie, smack bang in the middle of renovations at the Star and Sixpence (read my reviews of Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence here and Valentine’s Day at the star and sixpence here). As usual there’s a race against time to get their charming establishment ready for an occasion, this time a wedding, with everyone doing their best of pull together to get the job done. What I love about these books is that we were invited in as if we were a resident of Little Monkham with the level of detail of both people and events making me feel like I was right there. I suppose this naturally leads to the characters, who I always feel are nicely varied, and I warmed to them all over again, in particular Franny, who surprised everyone with some unexpected opinions and a lovely speech. A ‘baddy’ presented themselves also, brilliantly done, which gave us THE insight into Sam we’ve been waiting for. I’ve always loved Sam, and this helped me understand her even more, however it did shine more of a light on Nessie also, by contrasting Sam’s vibrancy with her negativity, which was a little too much sometimes, although not enough to take away from the beautiful romance that raised its head once again.

I really enjoyed this book. I settled into it so quickly, reading on with interest to watch the glorious romance, drama and fun unfold. I’d love to tell you I can’t wait for the Autumn installment, but actually I’ve read it so I’ll be bringing you that installment on Wednesday (hint: I can’t wait to write this review!!)

Rating: 4/5

 

2 thoughts on “Novella review: Summer at the Star and Sixpence by Holly Hepburn

Leave a Reply

