Novella Review: Autumn at the Star and Sixpence by Holly Hepburn

autumn

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: As autumn starts to draw in and the nights are getting darker, the fire is lit at the Star and Sixpence and Nessie and Sam start to turn their thoughts to the annual bonfire night. The village comes together every year to celebrate the turning of the season and this year is going to be extra-special.

The Review:

I may as well get started by presenting the reviews so far to get you up to speed (I would say these can be read as standalones but they’re too nice so you may as well go back!):

Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence

Valentine’s Day at the Star and Sixpence

Summer at the Star and Sixpence

or you could preorder A Year At The Star and Sixpence which is out 29th December 2016 and read them all as one lovely book (I am quite jealous you can do this;)

Now I have to admit, I always knew the Autumn edition of this gorgeous series would be for me. I adore Autumn. We live in the country and I’m one of those annoying people who tells their kids to savour the splendour of the autumnnal colours when they grace the trees lining the roadway approaching our abode (I don’t say it in this way, it’s more like ‘LOOK’-in the manner of a school teacher- ‘now how lucky are you to live on a road that has such amazing colours on it, look at the reds, the golds, the oranges, isn’t t so beautiful, aren’t we lucky, well AREN’T WE?’ Yes I suck a bit of life out of it, but now they have started looking they do appreciate it!) , and who takes pictures of said trees before they lose it all. And so, when I approached this book, I knew I would bask in the whole gloriousness of the imagery, and bask I did. I can tell you now that this book matched ‘Snowdrops’ for me, which had been my favourite book of the Star and Sixpence so far, and perhaps surpasses it.

The romance was ramped up, with a possible love triangle, that didn’t seem to be an equal triangle, but was there all the same. Owen and Nessie made me smile and say ‘aw’ out loud (it was fine, there was nobody around!) and in general I actually began to wonder if this was the final installment (it wasn’t, the Christmas edition, available here , is the ending and I think this will be my Christmas sit down and chill out book for this year!).

As always, the goings on of the pub put me right there, as well as the locals’ involvement in the book, this time with Ruby taking my breath away. There was the added drama of Patrick, Nessie’s soon to be ex-husband, turning up, worryingly with an interest in The Star and Sixpence. Sam, as always, was on fire, and made me smile regularly, and nod along. Nessie, being Nessie, was still a bit negative for me, but it didn’t impact too much to be honest. As for the ending, a boulder formed in the bottom of my stomach that made me want to go trawling the streets for someone who had read it, asking ‘Can you believe that just happened? Can you?’ (This was where I flew to Amazon worrying that we had just been left, but we hadn’t. Phew!)

This was one of my standouts for 2016, with drama, smile out loud moments, heartache and all round gorgeousness that put Holly Hepburn as a force to be reckoned with on the romantic comedy scene.

Rating: 5/5 (if I could unread it so that I could let it all wash over me again I would!)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Novella Review: Autumn at the Star and Sixpence by Holly Hepburn

  1. On the whole I’m actually a huge fan of novellas, though I’ve only really read them in relation to chick lit/ rom coms, very selfishly, because of the fact it allows me to review more (I’m afraid I’ve all but broken up with the tome at this stage!!) and also I find they are nicely processed, you don’t have some of the filling that can be added to full length novels to make everything fit a word count. Saying that, there are times you don’t get to all the parts of a series, or you can decide to back off whereas you’re not going to leave a book in the middle! To be honest I enjoyed this series so much that a full length book would probably have been as satisfying, although I liked the touch of the seasons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

