A Season of Hopes and Dreams by Lynsey James

aseason

Length: 384 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal buy link for the book

What they say:

A heart-warming romance about hopes and dreams, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley.

A season of second chances…

It’s been a difficult year for Cleo Jones. The car accident that crushed her leg didn’t just destroy the village baker’s dreams of becoming a dancer, but crushed her confidence too. And recovering from that has been harder than healing from any number of broken bones…

But this season is going to be different. Life is turning around for Cleo! Maybe it’s the invitation from her childhood bully to their high-school reunion that’s shocked her out of a ten-year slump. Or joining Carb Counters and finally starting to shed the weight she’d piled on during her recovery – or maybe it’s catching the eye of her gorgeous personal trainer!

Whatever the answer, this is going to be a feeling she never forgets… watch out world, Cleo Jones is finally fighting back!

The review: Apologies as this is so overdue-I meant to post this a while ago but it hovered about in my draft’s folder. First off I have to say if there’s any author out there in this genre (romantic comedy) that I have heard gushed about the most on social media, Lynsey James has to be it. People are always talking about how spot on she is with descriptions, comedy and romance and I have to agree!

This is the story of Cleo Jones, who is crumbling as she receives letters of rejection from institutions to teach dance. We learn that Cleo was in a car accident and as a result has lost her ability to dance, something that was the universe to her. I nodded along with Cleo from the start, impressed that a character who’s going through such an ordeal can still show what a lovely person she is!

Cleo finds a bucket list that she wrote when she was younger and it sparks some fight in her. She can no longer perform in the West End and Broadway as previously wished, but maybe she CAN achieve other things. And so begins Cleo’s lovely, inspiring story, where she plans to rid herself of the demons that have been hounding her since the accident, including food issues, and school bullies.

There was so much I loved about this book. I loved the friendships, that unfolded nicely as the story went on, the romance was excellent, as I myself fell head over heels for the love interest! The characters were very well done, with a range of them introduced through Cleo’s Carb Counters group, a group that gave some fantastic comedy moments. But Cleo was always the standout for me. That someone in a book could be so shy and yet endearing and lovely was very impressive, both as a reader and writer (yes I do review as a writer too, the two of them kind of go hand in hand!). There are some tough issues dealt with, especially in relation to Cleo’s food issues, but they’re done sensitively and nicely fit into the warm, easy-going tone of the book.

I cannot WAIT to read  A Winter’s Wish Come True (and then return to Ms. James’ other books which can be found here on Amazon) Apologies for the lateness of the post, it was due some time ago, and I just wish I’d got to it sooner. Thanks so much to HQ digital for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

 

One thought on “A Season of Hopes and Dreams by Lynsey James

  1. Pingback: A Winter’s Wish Come True by Lynsey James | BRMaycock's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s