It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton

ithad

Length: 240 pages

Please note as always the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic with a hopeless love life – until now. New beau Dan ticks all the boxes: he’s good-looking, kind and thoughtful. The complete opposite of Bea’s ex, who once threw her out in the middle of the night when she was ill so she didn’t disrupt his sleep.

So when her friends point out that she and Dan don’t have fireworks, Bea ignores them. Dan is the whole package. And yet Bea can’t stop comparing him to her best friend Henry… Because Dan doesn’t get Bea’s jokes. Or like books. Or make her laugh until she can’t breathe. Or become speechless when Bea puts on her favourite black dress for a night out…

As time goes on, Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. On paper Dan is the perfect man. But in reality… Will Bea be brave enough to ask for more from life – and get the fireworks she deserves?

A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.

The Review: You might remember I raved about Keris Stainton in my review for ‘If you Could See Me Now’ (review here ) and said I had to had to had to get back to her other books. After reading this I totally stand by that comment!

It is the story of Bea, who has decided that a guy she meets, Dan, is actually the man of her dreams. There’s a bit more to this than meets the eye but it may make my review a spoiler if I say what the full premise of the book is, given that it’s not in the blurb, so I’ll skip on by! Bea is that chick lit character that you have to love, she’s odd and properly quirky, with a running commentary in her head as she goes around (loved it!).

We meet  her lovely (lovely!) workmate, Henry (they work in a bookshop, which was excellent and gives rise to loads of actually hilarious incidents). I smiled from very early on in the book and settled in quickly, totally savouring every-single-word. I adored the conversations Bea and Henry had on couples entering the bookshop, trying to decode every movement, every word to see if they thought they were long term or not and loved then how these thoughts seeped into her own dating life. My only beef would be that there’s a lot of characters in it, which I’m normally a huge fan of, but to be honest at times I found there to be too many people in her friend circle and I got confused.

I really can’t tell you too much about it all, there’s plenty of brilliant humour, some gorgeous romance and settings that are so vivid you’re there with Bea as she muddles along in a manner so realistic that you’re cringing, empathizing and getting mad as if it were you or someone you knew! All in all a great book, and at the moment only £0.99, so I’d go get to be honest!

Thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s