#BookReview Tell The Truth by Amanda Brittany

tellthetruth

Length: 298 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say:

TELL THE TRUTH

Or they’ll tell it for you…

Rachel’s childhood is a mess of fragmented memories, and her adult life is no less chaotic.

Her mother and daughter were her only concrete links to the past and now they are slipping through her fingers. Fuelled by the fear of losing them both, she delves into her mother’s past, fast becoming entangled in her own tragic history.

With eerie friend requests filling Rachel’s phone and shocking flashbacks filling her mind, she is plagued by her mother’s past, and soon realises that her entire life might just be a lie.

Will she ever discover the truth?

From the bestselling author of HER LAST LIE comes a chilling new thriller you won’t want to miss! It will have you questioning your own relationships and doubting if everyone in your life is who they say they are.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and He Said / She Said.

The Review: I was very impressed by Her Last Lie (review here) by the same author and so I went into this one ready to enjoy. I will admit I had a few slight niggles but I really enjoyed it overall and will definitely be looking out this author again.

Now. I mention the niggles because we were introduced to them early on- to start with we have the voice of a murderer vaguely telling us about people they had killed. I’m sorry to everyone this annoys, but in general I don’t need this pov. I’m so sorry but I never need a murderer we know nothing about laughing at how/why they did what they did unless it adds something explosive to the story and in this case I found it unnecessary. I’m sorry, it’s probably totally just me and it’s probably just that I’ve read so many books with such an  unknown person  but just letting you know. The second was where we were introduced to Rachel, a mother of a little girl, Grace, getting over a relationship where the father of her child has left. She is a psychotherapist but I needed a lot more from her as a result of this, I wanted analysis, background, and I suppose more technicality but we didn’t get it. The last was the use of nursery rhymes(which I know can be creepy as hell!). Again, just being picky here but it didn’t work for me.

Moving onto everything that did-this book was a bit of a rollercoaster where Rachel gets a phone call on air from someone threatening her and begins to get beyond freaky friend requests! I know, yeeks, right? As you begin to join them together and figure them out you start to get a road map as to who this is leading to and yet you get surprise after surprise, almost huddling with Rachel as you wonder who she can trust. It is a book with many characters, a few povs and the story of a few people that interconnect to lead you to a climatic finish. Very enjoyable and sorry about the mini rant, I just felt it needed to be said!

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “#BookReview Tell The Truth by Amanda Brittany

  1. I think the killer pov works for me sometimes… but other times it doesn’t. I remember a book I loved, Distress Signals… if it hadn’t had the killer pov, it would’ve been a perfect 5 star read for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s