Every Little Secret By Ruby Speechley @Rubyspeechley @Herabooks @rararesources

51ireihiywl._sy346_

What they say:

She believed the lies… The truth will destroy her.

Maddy Saunders’ life is unravelling. After the heartbreaking, unexpected death of 5-year-old daughter Chloe, she’s trying desperately to keep her family together for other daughter, Emily. But when the police inform her that husband Max is missing, the rucksack found at the bottom of a local canal leading them to believe he has taken his own life, her grief takes a new and sharper turn.

Unable to believe that Max would abandon her and Emily, Maddy desperately searches for clues as to what has happened to her husband. But as she delves deeper into his secrets, Maddy finds a web of betrayal that forces her to re-examine everything about the life they have built together.

Maddened by grief, and forced into untangling Max’s lies, Maddy will stop at nothing to uncover the truth – even if it destroys her in the process.

A gripping, absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller that will have you hooked – perfect for fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and B.A. Paris.

Amazon UK

Amazon US

The Review: This is the story of Maddy, who is going through hell on earth with the loss of a child and is then hit with the disappearance and possible death of her husband. From the start there’s the ‘did he jump, was he pushed, or is he alive’ constantly swimming around your brain, as you’re hit with a dual timeline and then multiple povs, one in particular which I was both surprised and thrilled to get.

I’ll admit the characters weren’t always my cup of tea, I think I’d found some too unlikeable and then when I had to feel for them I found it tough. Saying that the feeling of being there watching everything unfolding, teemed with the surprises and twists had me rushing on to an ending I wouldn’t have guessed. Thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

About the author

61Wzh0e+9JL._SY600_

Ruby Speechley is a novelist and short story writer.

Her debut novel, Someone Else’s Baby was published by Hera Books on 25 July 2019.

May 2018: Longlisted for the Bath Novel Award

April 2018: Longlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize

January 2018 : Longlisted for the Caledonia Novel Award

May 2017:  Ruby won a place to ‘meet an agent’ at the International Literature Festival, Dublin.

June 2017: The first chapter of Ruby’s new novel was long listed in the Retreat West First Chapter competition.

August 2017: Ruby won Amanda Reynolds’ Close To Me/Wildfire Pitch competition (with the longer pitch above).

September 2017: Ruby won Best Opening Chapter at the Festival of Writing in York and was runner-up in the Perfect Pitch competition (with the longer pitch above).

Ruby’s second novel, The Weight of Stones was long listed for the Exeter Novel Prize 2017 and short listed for the Retreat West First Chapter competition 2017.

In 2016, Ruby won a place on the Character is Destiny treat with her ficional ‘Letter to Sylvia’, https://www.retreatwest.co.uk/winner-character-destiny-retreat/

In 2015, she won the Retreat West First Chapter competition, with her novel, The Black Garden, selected by agent, Jo Unwin.

In 2014 Ruby won a Retreat West short story competition. Better Left Unsaid is published in their anthology, ‘Inside These Tangles, Beauty Lies’.

Several of her short stories and flash fictions have been long listed for Fish Publishing prizes over recent years. A few have been short listed. Last year: James Dean Daydream; 2014: Payback and 2013: Mistaken.

In 2012, Final Delivery was short listed in the EarlyWorks Press prize and is published in their anthology, ‘From Barcelona to Bihar.’

In 2009, Ruby graduated with an MA in Writing from Sheffield Hallam University and went on to be mentored by Jill Dawson on the Gold Dust scheme.

Website

Twitter

Goodreads

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s