#Blogtour #BookReview The Plus One Pact by Portia Macintosh @rararesources #Boldwoodbloggers @Boldwoodbooks @PortiaMacIntosh

Qg0j2tbg

agoya10Q.jpeg

What they say: Cara has officially run out of men. Her most recent dates have gone from bad to worse, and when her dating app informs her there is no one left in her area to choose from, she is at a dead end.

But with a summer of events ahead of her, she needs to find a solution, fast; someone to keep her company at the never-ending weddings, family gatherings and gender reveal parties that she can’t face going to alone. So when she meets handsome, confident, Millsy on a night out she may be in luck. They could not be more different in personality, but he too has a summer of events ahead and is desperate to get his family off his back about finding a ‘nice girl’. What if they made a pact to help each other out and be a plus one for the summer? Just as friends of course…? 

A brand new romantic comedy from bestseller Portia MacIntosh, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley, Sophie Ranald and Mhairi McFarlane

Amazon UK 

The Review: From the start of this book I was in, as we meet the lead, Cara, as she starts a blind date. Of course the date doesn’t go as planned and I was kind of with her when she decided she should perhaps leave the online dating game. Of course it is always when this is said that someone appears who seems to be perfect, but here the snag is neither is interested in the other for anything except for friendship.

I loved that you weren’t beaten over the head with the chemistry, there were just subtle reminders that actually they probably did like each other. The settings were superb, as the two came up with a pact to accompany each other to various events- I really felt like I was at them, experiencing it all, wandering about, mesmerised by my location but also enthralled with the range of characters.  As for the comedy factor, I had a few sudden snorts and more than a few smile moments and of course some nods too! I’ll be totally honest, I wished we heard more about her job, in fact when I heard it (wait til you hear what it is) I wanted most of the book to be set there, but saying that the idea alone was a nice touch and definitely gave rise to some of the kind of nerdy moments I secretly crave from rom coms.

Fantastic settings, a great range of characters and lovely, lovely romance- all in all a book I beyond enjoyed and very much recommend. Thanks so much to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

About the author

j77OZx3w.jpeg

 

Portia MacIntosh has been ‘making stuff up’ for as long as she can remember – or
so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she
was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or,
most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those
lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales.
After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her
powers for good and started writing novels instead.
Bestseller Portia writes hilarious romcoms, drawing on her real life experiences to show what it’s really like being a woman today – especially one who doesn’t quite have her life together yet.
z-_2M5Hw.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s