#Bookreview Ouija by Zoe Lee O’ Farrell @zooloo2008

What they say:

The only thing for certain is the deaths were no accident.

Rayner High School once a prestigious school stands in ruins after such a terrible event.

A year later, a group of friends return to the abandoned school and their nightmare begins.

Something wants to get out and won’t take NO for an answer…

Ouija is Book 2 in a new series brought to you by Question Mark Horror. For fans of Point Horror, Christopher Pike & Nicholas Pine.

Check out Book 1 – Camp Death by Jim Ody

The Review: There are a number of things that send me straight to a book. The first is when you know someone who is a prolific book blogger/ reviewer/ avid reader has written a book, the next is when you know they share similar tastes to you, and then you hear that the aim of their new book is to cater for people who are a fan of a certain series of books; a series that you absolutely lived for. This book was going to tick all of these boxes!

When I was a teenager I lived for Point Horror books. I hounded the librarian for them, bought them with any spare money I had, asked for presents of them until I had a pretty impressive collection (I thought all of them but now I think of it possibly not!) Fast forward to now, and when I hear there is a new series that aims to cater for this generation I jumped to review, even though I was a little terrified because, hello, it’s Zoe from Zooloo’s book tours, and what if you don’t like her book?

I needn’t have worried, this book did indeed transport me back to my teenage years, in absolute cinematic form, as I followed a group who were about to face something big, in a high school (jumps about excitedly!). There were surprises and shocks and some nice little nods to what shouldn’t be done in these situations, as well as trying to figure out what was going to happen. The twist had me remembering what the genre was, as I literally thought ‘no, no, that can’t have happened’ then remembered anything goes really! The characters were fab and I was totally with them in the school which was the perfect setting. Beyond recommended and one I’ll be handing over to my thirteen nearly fourteen year old to try!

Definitely achieved what it set out to and a series I’ll be pressing on so many people! Fantastic!

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s