The Girl Before Me by Laura Wolfe #bookreview

What they say:
I switched on the bedroom light, casting a glow across the apartment. No one was there. But then the locks on my front door caught my eye. I thought I’d locked them both, but now one was open…

When I moved into the apartment with my little daughter Lily, it was meant to be a new beginning for us. Now we are right in the heart of downtown, in a building with its own doorman. For the first time in a long time we are safe, away from my ex-husband.

But just as we settle into our new lives a letter arrives for someone called Annie. The neighbors tell me to ignore it. She’s just the woman who lived here before me, who moved out one day without a word.

Curious, I open it anyway and am shocked by what I read. It says Annie wasn’t safe. It said she needed to get out.

Now, I can’t escape the idea that someone is watching us. I feel I can’t trust my neighbors.

And I can’t help but think… Something happened to Annie. Something bad. And Lily and I are not nearly as safe here as I thought we were…

A totally unputdownable gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena and Gillian Flynn. 

The Review: I have to admit I jumped for this book, the cover and blurb absolutely pulling me in. And what a beginning! I was fully grabbed by the creepiness of the beginning which was very much a nowhere to run scenario as we met the inhabitant of appartment 4b in a very classy building. Fast forward on and our lead character is moving into the same apartment with her daughter. She finds a note that hints that the girl before her (hence the title!), may not have suddenly left the way everyone was led to believe.

In a book full of unlikable characters the scene was set well but I will admit this one is more for the people who need a starter thriller, I just had different ideas on how it should be done which is more me being pernickity, but still very enjoyable. Thanks so much to the publisher and Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating:4/5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s