The Sleepover by Carol Wyer #BookReview


What They Say: She said she’d gone to a sleepover. But she never made it. Someone must know why…

When Detective Natalie Ward is called to the home of fourteen-year-old Roxy Curtis she can’t help but empathise with Roxy’s distraught mother Cathy. Roxy hasn’t come home, last seen heading next door for a sleepover with her best friend Ellie. As the mother of two teenagers herself, Natalie knows that this is every parent’s worst nightmare.

But when Roxy’s body is found in the basement of a beautiful Victorian mansion on the other side of town, Natalie’s darkest fears are confirmed. What was Roxy doing there? The people who knew her best should know – but Cathy seems evasive, and Ellie refuses to talk. Natalie is determined to find out what secrets they are keeping…

Then Roxy’s mother Cathy disappears. 

When her body is found two days later, Natalie is forced to face the fact that Roxy’s loved ones are in real danger. Things take a more sinister turn when Ellie vanishes, her mobile phone switched off. Is Ellie hiding something about the night Roxy died that could put her in terrible danger? And can Natalie work it out before another innocent life is taken?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

The Review: So you’ll know that when I see a Carol Wyer book I jump to buy or request and generally say that I’m saving it for a time I can properly savour it. As a result this was my Italy read!

This is part of a series (book 4) but you wouldn’t have had to read the preceding books. It definitely helped though as you know the investigators, so here we get a huge insight into what is going on in Detective Natalie Ward’s life as she looks into a death that is too close to home given she has teenagers.

I felt for the family of the victim and then was intrigued and shocked when another murder happened. We get to know the victim’s family, a mostly unlikeable crowd, but who are victims of poverty. Their unlikeability, along with constant cursing, removed me slightly from being fully invested. Also the fact that pacing wise it was slow, not really slow burn, just trundling along. That being said, by the end I was thinking ’next in the series, please! So, a mixed bag that did the job! Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating:4/5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s