Stone Broke Heiress by Danielle Owen Jones #BookReview

What they say: Six months ago, I was the heiress to a soup empire worth millions. Now, I’m standing in a giant dumpster.

Bella Whittington’s caviar-and-Cristal life comes crashing down when she walks in on her fiancé and best friend tangled up in page 34 of the Kama Sutra, limbs everywhere. But her plan to dull the pain with Daddy’s credit card is totalled by the news that they’ve lost the family business. Suddenly Bella’s both single and completely broke.

Shivering in her dingy new studio apartment after a traumatic incident with a homemade turmeric face mask (Hello Tangerina Jolie!), Bella realises she must pull up her Gucci socks and get a job, fast. But Dan, the gorgeous, grumpy owner of the local soup kitchen, hates the Whittingtons, so a teensy lie about her surname gets Bella through the door, and set loose on the stove… Minestrone with a side of melted spatula, anyone?

When Bella’s ex returns with a golden ticket back to her glitzy old life, should she accept? Because that would mean no more box wine and frozen pizza nights with Dan. No more singalongs to the crackly kitchen radio. No more my-heart-is-as-melted-as-that-spatula moments when he finally cracks a reluctant smile… But if Dan finds out the truth about who she really is, will she even have the choice?

An absolutely hilarious, feel-good rom com that will have you snorting with laughter. The new must-read for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Schitt’s Creek!

The Review: I’ll admit the second I opened this book (this is where ebooks are a hard fail, isn’t it? Because I switched on my Kindle, and ‘the second I switched on my Kindle’ isn’t even close to the same, is it?) I sailed along with this, the story of Bella Whittington from Whittington Soup, who has lived the high life to the extreme, daughter of a father who also splurges and doesn’t quite know how to manage money.

When things go kablooey, under suspicious circumstances, Bella, her mum and dad face a huge drop, and suddenly she goes from princess essentially, to living in the type of circumstances she didn’t really see as existing before.

The characters in this were spectacular, to warm to a lead who was all about the high life, and be cheering her on, along with her parents, who were comedy cold, to the villains of the piece, was truly special. The story line was of course fab-riches to rags couldn’t be anything less, plus the whole cinematic feel of it-I felt like I was watching a movie!

All in all so recommended! Thanks so much to Netgalley and the publisher for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 5:5

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s