A Winter’s Wish Come True by Lynsey James

awintersLength: 254 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say:

Tis the season to be . . . pregnant? Catch up with Cleo and Scott in this fabulously feel-good festive read

Being pregnant with her ex-boyfriend’s baby is the last thing on Cleo Jones’s Christmas wish list. Scott might have been the man of her dreams once upon a time, but things change and now Cleo faces a future as a single mum… Or does she?

Scott won’t let Cleo go through this alone; whatever their differences he’s vowed to be there, from antenatal classes to night feeds and nappy changing. The two agree to bring up their baby as friends – but as Cleo’s bump grows, so do their feelings for each other.

Cleo can’t be sure if it’s her heart of her hormones urging her to give Scott a second chance – but getting back together could be the best Christmas present of all!

The Review: After loving A Season Of Hopes And Dreams (review here ), I was thrilled to jump STRAIGHT into this, A Winter’s Wish Come True, returning to see what had and would happen with Cleo and Scott. Books with pregnancy and babies or kiddies bundled up with comedy and romance are right up my street and I looked forward to seeing how Ms. Jame approached the whole thing. We start off somewhere along the street we ended up in (don’t worry, no spoilers for the last book!), with Cleo still attacking that bucket list; she’s taking a skydive and turning down her instructor for a date. As the blurb says, she’s broken up with Scott, which is a shock, and I was dying to see what had happened and why. As always, Cleo is always full of surprises and I settled in. The pregnancy of course comes as a shock and I loved the brilliantly done ‘it can’t be THAT!’ moment. There are many captivating moments in this book and a return to some of the characters we’d met before, although here, we’re used to them and so settle into enjoying her friends, and her family (her mother, although pushy, stole my heart.’ We also meet old acquaintances, some not so friendly, and issues that she thought she had conquered, the psychology of which was captivating. I highlighted as I went, chortled, ohhed and made shocked faces as I flew through this excellent book that will make any chick lit lover happy out this Christmas. Could be read as a standalone but to be honest I’d go enjoy them both! Thanks so much to Netgalley and HQ digital for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 5/5

A Season of Hopes and Dreams by Lynsey James

aseason

Length: 384 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal buy link for the book

What they say:

A heart-warming romance about hopes and dreams, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley.

A season of second chances…

It’s been a difficult year for Cleo Jones. The car accident that crushed her leg didn’t just destroy the village baker’s dreams of becoming a dancer, but crushed her confidence too. And recovering from that has been harder than healing from any number of broken bones…

But this season is going to be different. Life is turning around for Cleo! Maybe it’s the invitation from her childhood bully to their high-school reunion that’s shocked her out of a ten-year slump. Or joining Carb Counters and finally starting to shed the weight she’d piled on during her recovery – or maybe it’s catching the eye of her gorgeous personal trainer!

Whatever the answer, this is going to be a feeling she never forgets… watch out world, Cleo Jones is finally fighting back!

The review: Apologies as this is so overdue-I meant to post this a while ago but it hovered about in my draft’s folder. First off I have to say if there’s any author out there in this genre (romantic comedy) that I have heard gushed about the most on social media, Lynsey James has to be it. People are always talking about how spot on she is with descriptions, comedy and romance and I have to agree!

This is the story of Cleo Jones, who is crumbling as she receives letters of rejection from institutions to teach dance. We learn that Cleo was in a car accident and as a result has lost her ability to dance, something that was the universe to her. I nodded along with Cleo from the start, impressed that a character who’s going through such an ordeal can still show what a lovely person she is!

Cleo finds a bucket list that she wrote when she was younger and it sparks some fight in her. She can no longer perform in the West End and Broadway as previously wished, but maybe she CAN achieve other things. And so begins Cleo’s lovely, inspiring story, where she plans to rid herself of the demons that have been hounding her since the accident, including food issues, and school bullies.

There was so much I loved about this book. I loved the friendships, that unfolded nicely as the story went on, the romance was excellent, as I myself fell head over heels for the love interest! The characters were very well done, with a range of them introduced through Cleo’s Carb Counters group, a group that gave some fantastic comedy moments. But Cleo was always the standout for me. That someone in a book could be so shy and yet endearing and lovely was very impressive, both as a reader and writer (yes I do review as a writer too, the two of them kind of go hand in hand!). There are some tough issues dealt with, especially in relation to Cleo’s food issues, but they’re done sensitively and nicely fit into the warm, easy-going tone of the book.

I cannot WAIT to read  A Winter’s Wish Come True (and then return to Ms. James’ other books which can be found here on Amazon) Apologies for the lateness of the post, it was due some time ago, and I just wish I’d got to it sooner. Thanks so much to HQ digital for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5