One Little Lie by Sam Carrington

onelittlelie

Length: 385 pages

Please note that the cover Image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say:

‘My name is Alice. And my son is a murderer.’

Deborah’s son was killed four years ago. Alice’s son is in prison for committing that crime.

Deborah would give anything to have her boy back, and Alice would do anything to right her son’s wrongs.

Driven by guilt and the need for redemption, Alice has started a support group for parents with troubled children. But as the network begins to grow, she soon finds out just how easy it is for one little lie to spiral out of control…

They call it mother’s intuition, but can you ever really know your own child?

Deeply psychological and suspenseful, One Little Lie is a twisty and unnerving story about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do to protect our children.Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Laura Marshall.

The Review: I had heard so much about Sam Carrington, and kept saying that I needed to get to her books, and, now that I’ve read this I will most definitely be returning for more. This is the story of (as you see in the blurb) a number of women, linked by their children’s crimes. It’s an ingenious premise, when a person commits a crime they have little thought of the impact it will have on their parents or how their parents will cope with the knowledge that they have given to the world a person that others see as evil, whereas they need to find a way to put together the idea of their child committing a crime with the memories of their child as a child or in their good times.

There are numerous povs in this book and I was thrilled to see some of them as each added a new dimension, however some people might find there too be too many (I like a lot of characters in a book). I will say that there is little mention of Connie in the blurb, the psychiatrist turned detective in the novel, where I felt she was one of the lead people to follow. Connie has her own issues which arise from an event that happened before the book.  I felt this was a pity-I had read that this could be read as a standalone- I feel like I could have done with knowing Connie’s backstory in more detail and would have enjoyed it, but will head back to read it anyway!

All in all a book I really enjoyed with twists, turns and surprises that I appreciated. Thanks so much to Avon  for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

Advertisement

My Sisters and Me by Lisa Dickenson

mysistersandme

Length: 400 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: They’re fixing up their childhood home. It’s going to get messy.

When Willow Lake asks her daughters for help renovating the family home, each has a reason to hesitate about returning to Maplewood . . .

For quiet and bookish Emmy going back to the town that ridiculed her fills her with dread.

The youngest Noelle is perfectly comfortable in herself now, but once wanted to fit in so badly that she walked away from her first love. A first love who still lives in Maplewood.

And outspoken Rae is painfully aware of how much the townspeople hurt her little sisters growing up. She didn’t protect them then, but there’s no way she’ll let history repeat itself.

The sisters agree to go home and make the best of it. After all if they’ve changed over the years, it’s possible the townspeople have too . . . isn’t it?

The BRAND NEW feel-good, kick-ass novel about sisterhood and second chances. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Mhairi McFarlane and Anna Bell.

The Review: I have to admit something. (Whispers)I’ve never read a Lisa Dickenson novel. I seem to have them all on my Kindle, it’s just, well, you know how it is, the books you buy out of interest seem to get bumped all the time. But no longer. I loved this book! It is the story of three sisters who are deciding to help renovate their childhood home, a kookly Halloween-esque abode just outside the town of Maplewood, where they didn’t have the easiest of upbringings. Turns out the townspeople thought their parents were witches, and spent their time shunning the three very different sisters and trying to get them to leave. Each sister was picked apart and there was bullying and meanness.

So. Some fared better than others and some, including the lovely, timid, bookish Emmy, didn’t fare at all and just about made it out, now relieved to be living far away from it all, working as a robotics engineer for NASA and binge watching Stranger Things on Netflix. I suppose this is where I stop you. Stranger things and a nerdy job? I was so excited! I love modern day comedies and rom coms and chick lit, but the quirks of this book surpassed so much out there, Emmy with her kick ass job, Rae, an out there opera singer with her big bear of a hubby and Noelle an environmental lawyer? What was there not to love? And now, (as I skip off happily onto another tangent), the references? It was like Ms. Dickenson put my whole life into that book! The babysitters club, Point Horror, Aerosmith (I like to think early stuff!), Haribo, Three Men and a Little Lady (and Magnum P.I. and Tom Sellek), Grand Designs, Location Location Location, Sugababes, Buffy, The Hills, Steve Irwin, the magic 8-Ball- I could go on and on. These, added to her charming small town descriptions and atmospheric house – well they had me!

We meet all of the girls, with the book leaning towards Emmy as the lead, and find out the various reasons they didn’t follow the town’s small minded mould, with some excellently done consequences. There are a multitude of characters, some lovely (special mention for the local policeman), some not so much. The romance was perfection, the Halloween party, set to prove something to the town, epic, and I loved the ending.

The book made me smile and laugh the whole way through and I adored that any reminiscing wasn’t out to make you cry. I actually did cry near the end for a reason most people won’t, but it was one of those smiling-laughing hysterically-through-the tears-transported-to-another-time-and-place sort of cry. So not so bad. All in all a book that feels like it was made for me, a magical autumnal feel good book with the right ratio of dramatic baddies to wonderful goodies (they’ve definitely got the right townspeople on their side!), that left me with a warm hug that stayed long after I’d finished reading. Thanks (so so so so) much to Spehere and Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 5/5

The Mum Who’d Had Enough by Fiona Gibson

themum

Length: 385 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book which is out this week!

What they say: After sixteen years of marriage, Nate and Sinead Turner have a nice life. They like their jobs, they like their house and they love their son Flynn. Yes, it’s a very nice life.

Or, at least Nate thinks so. Until, one morning, he wakes to find Sinead gone and a note lying on the kitchen table listing all the things he does wrong or doesn’t do at all.

Nate needs to show Sinead he can be a better husband – fast. But as he works through Sinead’s list, his life changes in unexpected ways. And he starts to wonder whether he wants them to go back to normal after all. Could there be more to life than nice?

The Review: Nate Turner wakes up one morning to find his dog licking him. Then

‘I flip over to joke with Sinead about waking up being snogged. The joke will have to wait. Sinead isn’t lying beside me.’

And we’re off! First off, you all probably know that Fiona Gibson is my ‘one author who can do no wrong,’ in the rom com stakes (remember the gush that was ‘As Good As It Gets?!’), and this book was no exception (I’m sorry if you wanted something different, but here we are!).

What Nate finds instead of his wife is a list. A very detailed list that tells us that his wife has been hoarding issues up for a very long time and they’ve exploded out of her with gusto.

I was thinking about this review and actually it’s one of those that there’s not a lot I can say without giving the game away. I CAN tell you that early on I realised I had inadvertently taken sides and even though of course when I heard the other person’s point of view I was going to swing over a little, in general I think I made the right choice. For me. And that was actually because one of the people in the couple had my ideas and my way of going about life and one didn’t and I could warm to that person, but not quite empathise with them and their actions (just to give you a laugh, just because I’m hypothesising over these important things in life, I’m actually saying this out loud as I type, kind of in a Carrie Bradshaw way!) I loved the everyday, with their son, Flynn, who has Cerebral Palsy and Nate’s job as a driving instructor, which was hilarious (special mention to Angus Pew and his threats!) and of course Tanzie. Smiles. Perfection. I loved this book. Thanks to Avon and Netgalley for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 5/5