Would Like To Meet by Polly James

wltm

Length: 400 pages

Note: Cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link

What they say:

A hilarious, heart-warming read perfect for fans of Shirley Valentine and You’ve Got Mail.

Could the worst thing that’s ever happened to Hannah Pinkman also turn out to be one of the best?

She and her husband Dan have reached the end of the line. Bored with the same gripes, the same old arguments – in fact, bored with everything – they split up after a trivial row turns into something much more serious.

Now Hannah has to make a new life for herself, but that’s not easy. She’s been so busy being a wife and mum that she’s let all her other interests slip away, along with her friends. And when Hannah is persuaded to join a dating site, her ‘best match’ is the very last person she expects it to be . . .

A clever, funny and poignant novel about life after a long relationship, the importance of friendship, and rediscovering your identity.

The Review: To start with, what a cover. I saw this and somehow knew that there was such a little chance of it being anything but enjoyable, and I wasn’t let down.  So we begin with a prologue that tells us of the beginnings of Hannah and Dan and we smile at how in love they are. Fast forward twenty seven years and now we are beginning to see the end, when a simple few comments quickly turn into some home truths that get out of control. I loved Ms James’ style, it reminded me of Fiona Gibson or Aimee Horton, more dialogue and funny goings on with a nice mix of realistic descriptions that put you at the scene of the crime each time. There were a few things to be sorted as you read, in the back of your mind you had an idea of what was going on, and sneaking suspicions of other happenings. The characters were great, I loved how human Hannah was, how strong her aunt Pearl was, and I loved the ‘baddy’ of the story-again so human that you couldn’t figure out what to feel about here. Joel was great, as was Dan, and I loved the insights into how both parties of the break-up felt.

My only issue with this book was, I suppose, a big enough one. When the pacing dipped I found myself having to push myself to keep going, just a little bit. The out of the ordinary events, the mix-ups, and all that involved much excitement, were so brilliantly done that the book couldn’t help but drop for me when Hannah was nostalgic or trying to figure out how to be alone, brought to the forefront by the length of the book, which could have been quite a bit shorter. That being said I still enjoyed it so much it wouldn’t hamper my excitement at finding another gem of an author to follow- I have to admit after this Ms. James’ name will be on my firmly ‘to look out for’ list (yes, I have one of those) and I’ve already bought ‘Diary of An Unsmug Married.’ Thanks to Netgalley for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a comment