Natalie’s Getting Married by Rosa Temple

nataliesgettingmarried

What they say: Career minded, Natalie Spencer, had never been in love. She could never understand what all the fuss was about. But when she met Jackson Humphries during Fresher’s Week at university, that all changed.
Utterly infatuated, Natalie quickly discovers the meaning of love and, before she knows it, she’s heading up the aisle – for the first time, that is.
This is a tale about four wedding dresses, a runaway groom and a girl who got so carried away, she couldn’t see true love staring her right in the face.

The Review: I had heard a lot about this book, a lot of gushing, people saying how excited they were, how enjoyable it was, how they devoured it … and I have to echo all of their claims. I loved this book. I read this in the middle of a week of solely chick lit and by golly was I satisfied at the end of it (the week, but also the book!).

So, the book was divided into three parts. The first, the new girl, harks back to October 1990, where Natalie Spencer is starting out in University. First off we see her meet the lovely Gabriel, who adored. I guessed he was going to be a big part of her life and was thrilled to have guessed correctly. I loved that their friendship came before everything, and, as it does in life, ebbed in and out, popping up in unexpected places. In general the friendship theme was brilliantly done, and I fell for the other two friends, Bella and  Alissa.

In university in terms of love we watch her stumble through,all intentions of not falling in love thwarted, and when she does it is for Jackson Humphries, the all rounder, popular boy about campus, who doesn’t notice her, until he does. There was a lovely subtle comedy in there (present throughout the book) which I really appreciated:

‘I had analysed every aspect of the left side of Jackson’s face and neck, from the freckle just below his left eye to the tiny mole on the side of his neck which I prayed, secretly, wasn’t cancerous. I’d waited over two years to speak to him, I wasn’t about to lose him to a life-threatening illness.’

‘His mother began to call me Jessica after Jackson’s ex-girlfriend and was relentless. In the end Jackson’s father got confused and started calling me Jessica too.’

Cue wedding bells and an intro into Part 2, The Brave New Girl which is the aftermath of the wedding. I will say only that Part 3 is The Career Girl. I had a whole different plan for this post, but to be honest I think I’d rather people read it as I did, waiting to see what would happen next. I know I’m not usually so cryptic, but, I’ll be very honest, I read this without reading the blurb and so got a few shocks along the way! A special mention to Margie McGee, the owner of the wedding dress shop that Natalie attends, let me just say her presence, shop and participation in the book was cinematographic material. Thanks so much to the author for the book in return for an honest review and stay tuned for the author interview with Rosa Temple, due tomorrow. In short, highly recommended for any chick lit fans out there.

Rating:4.5/5

About the author (she says it best herself on her website here, so enjoy!:))

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Rosie’s Novella ‘Sleeping with your best friend’ on Amazon

 

 

3 thoughts on “Natalie’s Getting Married by Rosa Temple

Leave a Reply

